top of page

Photography shortlist


At least three of the six Photography categories at this year's SJA British Sports Journalism Awards will have first-time winners.

The shortlists for the Canon-sponsored section are announced today, and among the fresh slates is the coveted Picture category, for which the judges have again selected 10 sensational sports images from the last 12 months.

New names are also assured on the first-place trophies for News Picture and Football Portfolio.

Meanwhile, the Canon Portfolio and Specialist Portfolio line-ups feature five former winners of the Ed Lacey Trophy for Photographer of the Year.

Adrian Dennis, Clive Mason and Edward Whitaker have each picked up the night's biggest prize on two previous occasions, while Clive Brunskill and David Davies' triumphs were separated by 25 years.

In addition, 2016 Ed Lacey Trophy winner Alex Livesey is on the Picture shortlist.

Ahead of the awards gala in London on March 25, AFP's Paul Ellis - chair of the photography judges, and a former chair of the BPPA - said: "2023 was another incredible year for sports photography, and the judges had a huge task to get each category down to the number of shortlisted entries.

"We saw photography from a huge variety of sports and not just set-piece events. There were well-worked pictures that demonstrate the ability and skills of individual photographers."

Naomi Baker, who won the inaugural Young Photographer honour at the 2018 Awards, is among those shortlisted for Canon Portfolio.

Following Catherine Ivill's historic success in the Football Portfolio category last year, Reuters' Hannah McKay has a shot at it this time around.

Meanwhile, Manchester City club snapper Lexy Ilsley's iconic image of Jack Grealish is up for News Picture alongside a trio of Just Stop Oil protest photos (captured by Mike Egerton, Julian Finney and Kieran McManus), Jonny Bairstow's controversial dismissal in the Lord's Ashes Test (Gareth Copley) and Joe LaCava's cap-raising confrontation with Rory McIlroy at the Ryder Cup.

Zac Goodwin took that photo of Patrick Cantlay's caddie, and having won Young Photographer bronze and silver at the 2021 and 2022 Awards respectively, he will be among those going for gold in that category in the 2023 edition.

Alex Davidson, Morgan Harlow, Cameron Smith and George Wood also make their returns to the final six, with Bradley Collyer a new name in the mix.

Ellis said: "The Young Photographer category was as ever hugely encouraging, demonstrating the incredible emerging talent in this country and everyone who has been shortlisted was in with a chance of winning."

With each portfolio submission comprising 10 images, the accumulated total of photos on the shortlists is well over 200. All will be on display in a special gallery showcase on awards night in London.

"I must add that the Picture of the Year category stood out for me and shortlisting to 10 was difficult," added Ellis.

"The winner however was well worthy and the jury agreed that it was such a striking image."

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony taking place at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge on the evening of Monday, 25 March 2024.


The Ed Lacey Trophy is awarded to the photographer who, in the opinion of the judges, has been the overall best sports photographer of 2022 and has demonstrated an outstanding range of photographic skills. This will be judged on submitted entries into the categories listed below. All other awards are subject to entered submissions which are then put before our panel of judges.







bottom of page